SSCI, a division of Albany Molecular Research, Inc. will host a live webinar on Wednesday, September 13, 2017 to discuss the United States Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) important step to revise the draft guidance to the industry on the regulatory classification of pharmaceutical cocrystals.  As the established leader in small-molecule cocrystal technology and development with a full-suite of proprietary and patented methods for preparing and characterizing cocrystals, SSCI is uniquely positioned to create valuable cocrystal intellectual property for its clients.

Exploring the opportunities available when cocrystals are used to modify the supramolecular properties of crystalline pharmaceutical compounds and the regulatory implications of the latest FDA guidance is the aim of this webinar hosted by Xtalks, the world’s leading provider of educational webinars for the international pharma, biotech, food, life science and medical device communities.

Eyal H. Barash, JD of Barash Law, LLC and Chief Patent Counsel to SSCI and Dr. Steef Boerrigter, Group Leader in Materials Science at SSCI will introduce the participants to the concept of solid forms, with specific focus on the revised FDA Draft Guidance on Cocrystals, which likens cocrystals in the same group as solvates.  Attendees will take away innovative patent strategies for cocrystals, how solid form claims are drafted, and examples of recent case law.  This session will also provide specific examples of products in the Orange Book using patents for such forms to provide drug substance protection beyond composition of matter, and will discuss both patentability and infringement issues related to such patents.

The presentation will start at 11am EDT (North America) / 4pm BST (UK) / 5pm CEST (EU-Central).